HomeSportsAll You Need To Know About Domestic Cricket In India

All You Need To Know About Domestic Cricket In India


The belief is that a strong domestic cricket system leads to a strong national cricket team, as domestic cricket serves as a source of players for the national team. India’s men’s cricket team is among the best in the world, partly due to the well-organized structure of the domestic cricket scoreboard in India.

A list of the tournaments held in domestic cricket in India

  • Ranji Trophy
  • Indian Premier League
  • Irani Trophy 
  • Duleep Trophy
  • Vijay Hazare Trophy
  • Deodhar Trophy
  • Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Every year several domestic tournaments occur in India. Players can participate in that tournaments according to their age. This is the best place where the young players can show their performance. The Board of Control for Cricket in India or BCCI is the main organizer of all these domestic tournaments.

The main three types of domestic tournaments are: – 

  • Ranji Trophy
  • Duleep Trophy
  • Irani Trophy

These all tournaments are List A type tournaments. 

The Ranji Trophy 

Every year Ranji Trophy occurs and this tournament first started in the year of 1935. Almost every successful player of India started their career by playing Ranji Trophy. This is generally a tournament between the states of India. Some states also represent two or three teams in this tournament(Maharashtra and Gujarat have 3 teams in this Tournament).

Mumbai is the best performer team in Ranji Trophy. Of their excellent performance, they have won this trophy 41 times. For this excellent record, Mumbai is called the Power House of Domestic Cricket. This tournament is generally played with the red ball.

Several times BCCI changed the format of this tournament. Eight groups compete against one another in Ranji Trophy and each group consist of four teams. The highest point scorer of every group reaches the quarter-final and then the winning team reaches the semi-final. Then the final match takes place between the teams which will win the semi-final.  

The Irani Trophy

This Irani Trophy is also a major domestic cricket Tournament that occurs in India. Irani tournament was first played in the year 1960. The Irani trophy does not hold every year. Irani Trophy was introduced on the 25th anniversary of The Ranji Trophy to mark the Ranji trophy. In this tournament teams from all over India compete against the winning team of the Ranji Trophy. This is a one-day tournament and BCCI is the main controller of this tournament.   

The Vijay Hazare Trophy

This is another famous domestic cricket tournament in India. This tournament first started in the year of 2003. This is a 50-over tournament and all the state and regional teams from India participate in this tournament. This tournament is also similar to the Ranji Trophy. Tamil Nadu becomes the most successful team for their extraordinary performance in this tournament. As a team Tamil Nadu won this tournament for five times.  

The Deodhar Trophy

Another name for The Deodhar Trophy is Master Card Devdar Trophy. This tournament was first started in the year of 1973. It is also a famous domestic cricket tournament in India. This is a 50-over tournament. Only three national-level teams i.e., India A, India B and India C are allowed to participate in this tournament.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

This Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is one of the most renowned T20 domestic competitions. The teams that participate in this tournament typically represent the Ranji Trophy. From the Indian Premier League, this trophy is a diversion. In the future, the players who do well in this competition will participate in the IPL. The IPL teams spend a significant amount of money to acquire the top players in this competition. When it comes to this tournament, Tamil Nadu is by far the most successful team. Three times, they won the competition.

State-Level T20 Competitions Schedule

Tamil Nadu Premier League,

 Karnataka Premier League, 

T20 Mumbai League

and so on. The state boards oversee these competitions.

Indian Premier League  (IPL)

The most renowned domestic cricket competition in India is known as the IPL. Throughout the year, a T20 competition is held. To compete in this tournament, each of India’s major cities forms a team.

Not just in India, but all over the world, IPL is well-known. To be selected for the national team, many Indian players first played in the IPL.

In addition to players from India’s national team, this tournament features well-known international athletes. While playing against these well-known athletes, the local athletes pick up numerous lessons that aid in their development as athletes.

Mumbai Indians are by far the IPL’s most prosperous team. Five times have they won the IPL. Ricky Ponting, Rohit Sharma, and Sachin Tendulkar were all legendary players in this group. For the young players, this team provides an excellent opportunity to play for India in the future.

Domestic Cricket Competitions for Women

  •     The Women’s IPL will debut under BCCI.
  • The Senior Women’s One Day Trophy- it is a competition for women age 25 and older. This competition features representation from all Indian states and regions. Similar to the Vijay Hazare Trophy is this competition.
  • Senior Women’s Inter-Zonal One-Day Competition—this event features six zones competing.
  • Senior Women’s T20 Trophy: Everyone who wants to play in this tournament may do so from any of our nation’s states.
  • Senior Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy: In this T20 competition, India A, India B, India C, and India D are the only four teams competing.

Domestic Cricket Payment Structure

Ranji players get an average salary of 50000 to 60000 Rs per day. IPL players are also offered a big amount of money. It varies between 1 Lakh to 10 Lakh for domestic players. 


These domestic cricket tournaments are also very famous among the Indian people. Domestic Tournaments make the future cricketer of our country. These tournaments are the best places for young players to show their performance. Selectors of the national team select players by watching the player’s performance in domestic tournaments. So, these domestic tournaments are very essential for every young player. 

Know all about cricket news and updates at CBTF news. 

Get the fastest cricket news update at

Know all about cricket betting and updates at CBTF betting. 

Get the updated expert betting tips at

Checkout our videos to get the latest updates about cricket and betting tips, and casino

tips to win big with expert opinions at




Related articles

Stay Connected


Latest posts